You are here

PFA and Austraffic Renew Partnership Celebrating Player Excellence

We are delighted to announce that Austraffic has extended its partnership with Professional Footballers Australia, supporting their prestigious player-voted awards.

For the third consecutive year, we will support the PFA recognise player performances domestically via the peer-voted  Austraffic A-Leagues Player of the Month Award, as well as the international excellence of PFA members through the 2024 Austraffic PFA Footballer of the Year Awards.

The importance of player recognition was evident last season, with players such as Joe Lolley, Socceroos Jamie Maclaren, Mat Leckie, Craig Goodwin and Brandon Borello, Matildas  Cortnee Vine and Alex Chidiac, and A-League Women stars Maria Rojas and Michelle Heyman, honoured with the monthly award. 

Sam Kerr, Charlotte Grant, Goodwin and Jordan Bos were  unveiled as the 2023 Austraffic Footballers of the Year at the PFA’s Players’ Awards night on the eve of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in July. 

PFA Co-Chief Executive, Kathryn Gill, said: “We are delighted to extend our partnership with Austraffic, who have helped to elevate and celebrate the monthly achievements of our players within the A-Leagues and the international excellence of our Matildas and Socceroos.”

Austraffic Queensland Principal Martin Jordan-Williams said: “Across the past two years, we have developed a wonderful partnership with the PFA, and with another exciting A-Leagues season approaching, we are delighted to commit further to their player awards and recognition. Our mission has always been to celebrate excellence, and we see that same spirit in the PFA and the incredible athletes they represent.”

About the Austraffic A-Leagues Player of the Month Award

Widely acknowledged as the most prestigious monthly award in Australian football, the  Austraffic A-Leagues Player of the Month Award  is the only peer-voted award in the A-Leagues.

About the 2024 Austraffic PFA Players’ Awards

The PFA Players’ Awards have been presented annually since 2009, when former Socceroo Tim Cahill won the inaugural PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year. The PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year was introduced the following season, which was won by Servet Uzunlar in 2010.

The awards consider both the domestic and international features of the career path pursued by elite Australian professionals. The PFA membership votes on the awards and will consider the performances of PFA members during the 2023/24 season.